Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious violation of the law in California. Not only does drunk driving put your life and the life of others in danger, you can also be charged with jail time if proved to be guilty of drunk driving. Understanding the DUI law and California DUI charges will let you be aware of your responsibility as a driver.
First DUI Offense in California
If you are caught for drunk driving in California for the first time, you will be under court probation for 3 to 5 years (with no probation officer to report to). Within this period of time, you should not be found drunk driving. You will need to pay a fine plus court fees that ranges anywhere from $1400 to $1800. You will also lose your California Driver License for 6 months but restriction applies if you are to drive to and from your school campus or place of work.
If proven guilty of drunk driving, you will also be required to attend a DUI school. You need to sit in the class for 12 hours to 45 hours- depending on the amount of alcohol found in your blood during the time of the DUI incident. All drivers who are caught under the influence are required by law to go through a 48-hour mandatory jail time on their first offense. Jail time can be converted to community service.
Just recently, drivers who are caught on their first DUI offense of in the areas of Alameda, Tulare, Los Angeles, and Sacramento countries are required by law to install on their car an Ignition Interlock Device for the span of 5 months, at a minimum. If there was any injury involved during the DUI incident, the device should be on for a year.
Hiring California Attorney DUI
There are many reasons why you should get the help of California DUI Attorneys if you are caught in a drunk driving incident. They can advice you not to further incriminate yourself and stop you from committing other mistakes that you may do.
California DUI Defense lawyers can defend you in court if your case goes into trial. They can help lower down California DUI Charges that are filed against you. If it is your first time to commit the offense, they can give you a run down of the laws and penalties of the California state against drunk driving. On the other hand if you have been arrested for the second or third time, California DUI Attorneys can help you lower your fines and make your punishments and penalties at a minimum within the bounds of law.
If you are caught in an DUI accident and there was an injury involved, whether it is your fault or not, it is a good decision to phone in one of the California DUI Attorneys that you know. They will help you in protecting your rights so you will not incriminate yourself further.
If you are usually driving after a party in the state of California, it is a wise move to keep a business card of any of the California DUI Attorneys that you can find in online directories or in the yellow pages just in case you need their service.